Georgia remains in the list of the safe countries for European Union

Gvantsa Nadibaidze


The European Council updated the list of countries which are safe to lift travel restrictions at the external borders. The list includes 12 countries and one of them is Georgia. Serbia and Montenegro were removed from the list.

In the updated list, the Council also recommends to open their borders with Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Also, on July 8, Georgia opened borders with several EU countries, including Germany, France, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia.